logo tournoi

Discoverthe stars of tomorrow

From June 1st to 14th 2020

Our history

The Maurice Revello Tournament, formerly called Toulon Tournament, is a football competition dedicated to the under 21 national teams. Since 2017, the tournament gather twelve nations. The selected teams are invited by the organizer according to their recent performances or their sporting goals.

Created by Maurice Revello, the tournament was composed of six teams for the first edition held in Toulon in 1967. After seven years of inactivity, the Tournoi de Toulon came back in 1974 with club teams (Derby County, Anderlecht, Nîmes and Borussia Mönchengladbach) but also nations (Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Brazil). The year after, the Tournament was only composed of nations. An organisation with eight teams that will become a standard for the the thirty-eight next editions. In 2013, two teams were added to the tournament formula. In 2017, the tournament opens up a bit more with twelve teams in total.

Born in the south of France in the departement of « Var », the tournament relocated in 2017 in the entire region of « Bouches du Rhône ».

More than 1700 players became internationals in A teams, some of them are Ballon d’OR, others champions of Europe, South America, Africa and Asia.

At european level, here are some of the players that participated in their time to the tournament : Zinedine Zidane(1991), Thierry Henry (meilleur joueur et meilleur buteur 1997), David Ginola (1987), Jean-Pierre Papin (1985), Alan Shearer (meilleur joueur et meilleur buteur en 1997), David Beckham (1995), Cristiano Ronaldo (2003), ou par la suite Eric Dier (2014), Adrien Rabiot (2014) et Thomas Lemar (2015).

Well-known south american players also participated to the Festival international espoirs, such as Juan Roman Riquelme (1998), Radamel Falcao (2004), Daniel Alves (2002), Javier Mascherano (best player award in 2003), James Rodriguez (best player award in 2011) or Marquinhos (2014).

All along its history, the Festival also permited to discover new talents. Some of them were even totally unknown when they took part to the tournament like Shinji Kagawa with Japan in 2007 or Franck Kessié in 2015 with Ivory Coast.

For the second year in a row, the departement Council of Bouches-du-Rhône give its name to the Festival International Espoirs provence. The 46th edition will take place from 26th of May to 9th of June 2018. 12 teams, 26 matchs in six different stadiums.

England will be there to put its title back in challenge. France, Scotland and Japan will also be present. Portugal, which has already participated twenty-eight times to the tournament will return to the competition this year. Turkey will close the european participations for this 2018 edition. Asia will also be represented. Besides Japan coming here to prepare the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, three other asian nations will participate : China, South Corea and Qatar. Mexico, winner of 2012 edition will represent Central America. Finally, two new countries will make their debut in the Festival international espoirs : Canada and Togo.

In the meantime of the men tounament, a new women tournament will held from 5th to 10th June in the city of Salon-de-Provence. The Sud Ladies’ Cup  will gather four U20 national teams, France, Germany, United-States and Haïti. National teams qualified for the U20 World Cup that will take place in August 2018 in Bretagne, France.



Our team

Organizing committee:

Alain Revello – President of Maurice Revello Tournament

Elsa Laurent – Marketing and communication project manager

Amayes Brahmi – Communication officer 

Mathieu Lauricella - Communication manager

François Lecorps - Marketing and Communication assistant

Eric Turcan – Organisation of pitches and Sud Ladies' Cup

Armand Fenouillet – Logistic manager

Patrick Zanin – Responsible for Water and Transports

Gilbert Varagnol - Responsible for TLO and Transports

Hervé Gilles - Responsible for Referees


Our official photographers :

Magali Ruffato

Hélène Dos Santos


Team responsible for Hospoitality:

Société Move to Meet

Stéphane Abreu – General Director

Ludivine Guével – Project officer

Céline Hégu - Project manager